

Communiqué

BEVINGTON INTRODUCES BILL TO CHANGE NAME OF RIDING

OTTAWA – Western Arctic MP Dennis Bevington today introduced in the House of Commons a bill to change the name of the riding to Northwest Territories.

"The current name of the riding dates from before the creation of Nunavut," said Bevington. "People were confused by the name Western Arctic when the other two Northern ridings are named for the territories they represent. While there has been debate about changing the name of the NWT the current name is still Northwest Territories. If the name of the NWT is changed we will change the riding name to the new name."

The Northwest Territories became part of Canada in June 1870 when Rupert's and the North-Western Territory were transferred to Canada from the Hudson's Bay Company. Since then the territory has been repeatedly divided to form the provinces of Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta, the Yukon and Nunavut territories and to expand the provinces of British Columbia, Ontario and Quebec. The riding, which at that time included the entire territory, was known as Northwest Territories from 1962 to 1976 when it was divided into the Western Arctic and Nunatsiaq. Following the creation of Nunavut in 1999 Nunatsiaq was changed to Nunavut.

"Last fall I began an informal consultation about changing the name of the riding," said Bevington. "Most of the Northerners I spoke with agreed the current name is confusing."

Following introduction, the bill is placed on the House of Commons Order Paper under Private Member's Business and will be debated according to its position on the list of precedence.

-30-

For More Information Contact:
Doug Johnson, Office of Dennis Bevington MP, 613-992-2131