LAYTON ANNOUNCES NEW NDP SHADOW CABINET

NDP to put priorities of working families and the middle class on agenda

OTTAWA – After a momentum-building win by NDP MP-elect Thomas Mulcair in Outremont, Jack Layton, Leader of Canada's NDP, announced today his new shadow cabinet.

"Since the last federal election, we have seen a Harper government that can't be trusted, a weak Liberal opposition that can't be counted on and a Bloc Quebecois that has passed its best before date and can't get anything done in Ottawa," said Layton. "In the upcoming Parliament, the NDP will serve as the effective opposition to the Harper Conservatives by putting the priorities of working families and the middle class first."

Layton announced Thomas Mulcair and Libby Davies (Vancouver East) have been appointed Deputy Leaders of the NDP Caucus. In addition, Mulcair will serve as Finance Critic and Quebec Lieutenant. Davies will continue in her role as NDP House Leader and Labour Critic.

Layton outlined his caucus's three priorities for the coming Parliament: ending the combat mission in Afghanistan, tackling the climate change crisis and closing the prosperity gap by making life more affordable for everyday families.

"Canada must set out a new direction to help the people of Afghanistan with reconstruction, aid and peace," said Layton. He announced Dawn Black (New Westminster-Coquitlam) will continue to serve as NDP Defence Critic and Alexa McDonough (Halifax) will serve as Peace Advocate. Paul Dewar (Ottawa Centre) will become Foreign Affairs Critic.

"Tackling the climate change crisis is another key priority," said Layton. "Leading our efforts will be Nathan Cullen who will continue to serve as Environment Critic."

"At a time when Canada's economy shows signs of unprecedented growth, working families and the middle class are falling further and further behind. This is not fair and every member of our caucus will be taking on issues in their critic area that address the prosperity gap," said Layton, highlighting two key examples: the skyrocketing cost of prescription drugs and the manufacturing job crisis. He announced Judy Wasylycia-Leis (Winnipeg North) will take on the role of Health Critic and Peggy Nash (Parkdale High Park) is Industry Critic.

A full list of the NDP shadow cabinet follows.

For more information, please contact:

Tara L. Kearsey
Communications Assistant
Dennis Bevington, Western Arctic MP
1-800-661-0802 - toll free
(867)669-8817 - direct office line
(867)444-0230 - cell
(867)920-4233 - fax
bevind1@parl.gc.ca
www.dennisbevington.ca

NDP Shadow Cabinet

Critic Responsibilities announced September 27, 2007

Jack Layton (Toronto-Danforth)

Leader,

Intergovernmental Affairs

Charlie Angus (Timmins-James Bay)

Public Works and Government Services, Treasury Board, Democratic and Electoral Reform

Alex Atamanenko (British Columbia Southern Interior)

Agriculture and Agri-Food, Rural Affairs

Catherine Bell (Vancouver Island North)

Natural Resources, Western Economic Diversification, Deputy Critic for Fisheries (West Coast)

Dennis Bevington (Western Arctic)

Northern Development, Arctic Sovereignty, Deputy Critic for Natural Resources (Energy)

Dawn Black (New Westminster-Coquitlam)

National Defence

Bill Blaikie (Elmwood-Transcona)

Deputy Speaker of the House of Commons

Chris Charlton (Hamilton Mountain)

Seniors and Pensions

David Christopherson (Hamilton Centre)

Infrastructure and Communities, Public Accounts, Revenue Canada, Crown Corporations

Olivia Chow (Trinity-Spadina)

Citizenship and Immigration,
Deputy Critic for Social Development (Children and Youth)

Joe Comartin (Windsor-Tecumseh)

Justice, Deputy Critic for Public Safety, Deputy Critic for the Environment (Great Lakes)

Jean Crowder (Nanaimo-Cowichan)

Aboriginal Affairs

Nathan Cullen (Skeena-Bulkley Valley)

Environment, National Parks

Libby Davies (Vancouver East)

Deputy Leader, House Leader, Labour,

Deputy Critic for Justice (Substance Abuse and Prostitution Issues), Deputy Critic for Infrastructure and Communities (Greater Vancouver Area)

Paul Dewar (Ottawa Centre)

Foreign Affairs,

Deputy Critic for Crown Corporations (National Capital Commission)

Yvon Godin (Acadie-Bathurst)

Whip

Francophonie and Official Languages, ACOA, Employment Insurance

Peter Julian (Burnaby-New Westminster)

International Trade, Pacific Gateway, Vancouver-Whistler Olympics

Wayne Marston (Hamilton East-Stoney Creek)

Multiculturalism, Sport,

Deputy Critic of Justice (Human Rights), Deputy Critic for Industry (Steel Policy)

Pat Martin (Winnipeg Centre)

Privacy and Ethics,

Deputy Critic for Agriculture (Canadian Wheat Board)

Tony Martin (Sault Ste. Marie)

Human Resources and Social Development,

Federal Economic Development for Northern Ontario

Brian Masse (Windsor West)

Transport, Canada Border Services,

Deputy Critic for Industry (Auto Policy)

Irene Mathyssen (London Fanshawe)

Status of Women

Alexa McDonough (Halifax)

International Development and International Cooperation, Peace Advocacy, Atlantic Canada Region

Tom Mulcair (Outremont)

Deputy Leader

Finance, Economic Development Agency of Canada for the Regions of Quebec

Peggy Nash (Parkdale-High Park)

Industry, Toronto Issues

Penny Priddy (Surrey North)

Public Safety, Deputy Critic for Justice

Denise Savoie (Victoria)

Post Secondary Education, Literacy, Deputy Critic for Human Resources (Training)

Bill Siksay (Burnaby-Douglas)

Culture and Heritage, Housing; Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transsexual and Transgender Issues

Peter Stoffer (Sackville-Eastern Shore)

Fisheries, Veterans Affairs, Deputy Critic for Industry (Shipbuilding)

Judy Wasylycia-Leis (Winnipeg North)

Caucus Chair Health, Persons with Disabilities